Physics Student Wins National Award

For the first time in the history of the Department of Physics, a student in the Physics special degree programme, Mr.J.H.T.B.Jayamaha, won “Best Undergraduate Physics Research Project Award 2018″ from the Institute of Physics – Sri Lanka (IPSL) for his successful fourth year research project. He received a medal and cash prize in a ceremony organized by the IPSL at the University of Colombo on November 17, 2018. This award is given annually to one of the students in Physics special degree programmes from all Sri Lankan universities and completes best fourth year Physics undergraduate research project.

Mr.J.H.T.B.Jayamaha’s fourth year research project on super capacitors was supervised by Professors Kumudu Perera and Kamal Vidanapathirana of the Wayamba University of Sri Lanka, Professor M. A. K. L. Dissanayake of the National Institute of Fundamental Studies (NIFS), Kandy and Dr.K.Vignarooban (Head/Physics) of the University of Jaffna. He has published two international journal publications from his undergraduate research work.

Mr.J.H.T.B.Jayamaha is currently working as a Temporary Assistant Lecturer in the Department of Physics and also partly involved in some research activities on rechargeable sodium-ion batteries under the guidance of Dr.K.Vignarooban.